Cornell University

Posted 2 months, 3 weeks ago

Cornell is a privately endowed research university and a partner of the State University of New York. As the federal land-grant institution in New York State, we have a responsibility—unique within the Ivy League—to make contributions in all fields of knowledge in a manner that prioritizes public engagement to help improve the quality of life in our state, the nation, the world.

It was founded in 1865 by Ezra Cornell and Andrew Dickson White. Cornell was founded with the intention to teach and make contributions in all fields of knowledge—from the classics to the sciences. The university is broadly organized into seven undergraduate colleges and seven graduate divisions at its main Ithaca campus, with each college and division defining its specific admission standards and academic programs in near autonomy.